2007 Economics Nobel Prize

October 15th, 2007

The 2007 prize goes to Hurwicz, Maskin and Myerson for their work on mechanism design theory.

While the work (which I’m not familiar with, so I’m just working from the press release) looks very useful and interesting, this continues a trend of the Nobel Prize that’s a bit worrying: they tend to focus on pretty technical economics work, and ignore a lot of the more practical and policy relevant work that’s out there.